Collective Jumps (2014)

dance performance/ dança

The group’s body is made out of many.
We are exercising practices that have the potential to unite instead of individualize.
We are understanding this practices as a relationship to oneself and to one another, as a pathway. Those practices are biological ones, cellular ones, energetic ones.

We are looking at freedom in relation to form. To form that is made of and found by an inner process and its rhythms. Rhythm creates the form. Therefore there is multitude, multiplicity, subjectivity and variation, even within repetition. We are looking at freedom as the essence of happiness. We are looking for equality in movement and for the end of hierarchy between body parts. Relations between body parts are like relations between people within the group. We borrow floor, formation and holding patterns from other communal forms, such as folk dance, simultaneously getting rid of their codes for to make the less visible materialities underneath appear. We are relating resistance to questions of rhythm and protest to questions of organization and exercise.
We are resisting the asthetics of representation and those who promote it and this is definitely meant to be a political practice.
Could the creation of an infinite, unified, monstrous body possibly become a site of resistance?

In Collective Jumps Isabelle Schad and Laurent Goldring address the topics of collectivity and resistance, investigating the possible relationships between freedom and form with a group of 22 dancers. Can the creation of an infinite, unified, monstrous body possibly become a site of resistance?

concept and choreography: Isabelle Schad in collaboration with Laurent Goldring
artistic assistance: Lea Moro
performance: Aniela Kokosza, Barbara Bujakowska, Dorota Michalak, Ewa Hubar, Gosia Mielech, Halina Chmielarz, Irena Lipińska, Iza Szostak, Jakub Margosiak, Janusz Orlik, Korina Kordova, Krystyna Szydłowska, Magda Bartczak, Magdalena Jędra, Marta Romaszkan, Natalia Wilk, Paulina Grochowska, Paweł Sakowicz, Przemek Kamiński, Sonia Borkowicz, Tomasz Foltyn, Ula Zerek
sound/ composition: Patryk Lichota
lights: Łukasz Kędzierski
coproduction: Art Stations Foundation by Grażyna Kulczyk, Goethe-Institu Warschau
Financed by the Polish Ministry of Culture and National Heritage